## LATE-FILE

REFERRED TO: FINANCE/LEGAL COMMITTEE

PERSONNEL COMMITTEE

PUBLIC WORKS COMMITTEE

RESOLUTION NO. –18 AMEND EMPLOYEE HANDBOOK

WHEREAS: Several sections of the Employee Handbook need to be amended; and

WHEREAS: The Legislature is desirous of amending the Employee Handbook; therefore be it

RESOLVED: That the Employee Handbook shall be amended as follows:

- 1. Section II Ethics Rules (formerly Policy #26) amend Section IV. Disclosure of Interest, paragraph C to state the following:
  - "C. The list of positions required to provide a financial disclosure shall be known as Schedule A and will be posted on the County's Intranet under "Employee Handbook EH Forms". Said list may be amended from time to time by the "Chief Elected Official" in accordance with Article 18 of the New York State General Municipal Law to reflect current County staffing positions."
- Section IX Building and Vehicle Procedures c. Assignment and use of County vehicles (formerly Policy #39) amend Section IX Accident Reporting to state the following:
  - "A. The police must be notified for all accidents involving County vehicles, regardless of severity or fault, excepting very minor accidents of Public Works vehicles which involve only damage to a vehicle of less than \$1000 and which occurred entirely on County property. When reporting an accident, obtain the name of the investigating officer and the report number.
  - B. Employees are also to report the nature and extent of <u>all</u> vehicle accidents to their direct supervisor and Department Head. Such information shall also be reported to the County Law Department and County Mechanic as shall all vehicle accidents involving Department Heads and elected officials.

- An Incident Claim, which can be obtained on the Tioga County Intranet under County Attorney Forms, must be filed with the Tioga County Attorney's Office as soon as possible, but no later than the close of the next business day.
- In accordance with New York state law, accidents involving C. damage over \$1000 to the property of any one person, personal injury, or a fatality must be reported to the police and an MV104 form must be filed with the Department of Motor Vehicles. The MV104 form can be found on the County's Intranet "Employee Handbook-EH Forms" or under Forms on the County Intranet, or obtained and/or filled out on the DMV website https://www.dmv.org/ny-newat It is the responsibility of the employee york/forms.php. involved in the accident to file this form with the Department of Motor Vehicles."
- 3. Section IV Personnel Rules a. Positions/Leave Time/ Vacancies (formerly policy #1) amend Section V Leave Time paragraph E is hereby deleted and paragraph C is hereby amended to state the following:

"In accordance with Section 159-b of the Civil Service Law (amended as of March 18, 2018, all County employees (male, female, full-time, temporary or permanent) are allowed up to four (4) hours of paid leave time per calendar year annually for cancer screening(s). Leave for cancer screening(s) is not cumulative and expires at the close of business on the last day of each calendar year. Travel time to and from the screening(s) is included in the four hours. Absence beyond the four hours must be charged to other leave time. Employees who undergo the screening(s) outside their regular work schedule do so on their own time. Employees are not aranted compensatory time off for cancer screening(s) that occur on days off or holidays. Employees are required to provide satisfactory medical documentation that their absence was for the purpose of screening for cancer. The documentation should be attached to the employee's time sheet or presented to the Department Head."

## And be it further

RESOLVED: That the remainder of the Employee Handbook is in full force and effect.